Tobacco Prevention Coordinators

Tobacco Prevention Coordinators are South Dakota’s tobacco prevention experts. They provide specialized support to your organization’s or community’s work.

Coordinators can assist in a variety of ways:

  • Communicate State Plan goals and key data
  • Provide technical assistance for grantees, coalitions, and partners
  • Present health education and promotion programs like training workshops, conferences, and school or community presentations
  • Share media materials that educate about the dangers of tobacco
  • Provide support in adopting voluntary smoke- and tobacco-free policies at the local level (such as multi-unit housing, schools, parks, city buildings and grounds)

If interested in support with any of these areas, reach out to your regional coordinator.

Coordinators are based in four regions across South Dakota. Locate your county on the Tobacco Control Program map. Then, find your coordinator’s contact information below.

Western Region

Joan Lindstrom

Black Hills Special Services – Career Learning Center
730 E. Watertown St.
Rapid City, SD 57701

Counties: Butte, Custer, Fall River, Harding, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington, Perkins

Central Region

Tynell Millner

Black Hills Special Services Cooperative
221 South Central Ave., Suite 33
Pierre, SD 57501

Counties: Aurora, Bennett, Brule, Buffalo, Campbell, Charles Mix, Corson, Dewey, Douglas, Gregory, Haakon, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld. Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Potter, Shannon, Stanley, Sully, Todd, Tripp, Walworth, Ziebach

Southeast Region

Hilary Larsen

Southeastern Prevention Resource Center
1309 West 51st St.
Sioux Falls SD, 57105

Counties: Bon Homme, Clay, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Turner, Union, Yankton

Northeast Region

Ashley Heyne

Black Hills Special Services Cooperative
PO Box 72
Roscoe, SD 57471

Counties: Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Marshall, McPherson, Roberts, Spink


Roshal Rossman, Statewide Tobacco Cessation Coordinator

Roshal promotes the SD QuitLine by providing education, outreach, and referral resources to healthcare professionals, health systems, employers, and other organizations or individuals through training, resource materials, and cessation policy enhancement.

She works with health professionals around the state to advise their patients to quit using tobacco products and make referrals to the SD QuitLine. Roshal is available for in-person or virtual training about the SD QuitLine, which can be tailored to suit the audience.

Black Hills Special Services Cooperative
PO Box 1840
Watertown, SD  57201

South Dakota Tobacco Control Program Leadership

Sierra Phelps, Tobacco Control Program Director

Sierra oversees the tobacco control program, including the SD QuitLine, community and school outreach, counter-marketing, prevention programs, surveillance, and evaluation. She provides oversight for all tobacco control program development, strategic planning, grant writing, management, budget preparation, staff supervision, outreach to partners, and policy development.


Position Open, Tobacco Control Program Coordinator

Rebecca Piroutek, Communications Coordinator


Kacee Redden, Tobacco Disparities Coordinator